Enabling Worksharing
 
 
 

Enabling worksharing involves creating a master project file, known as a central file, from an existing model.

The central file stores the current ownership information for all worksets and elements in the project, and acts as the distribution point for all changes published to the file. All users should save their own local copy of the contents of the central file, edit locally in this workspace, and then synchronize with central to publish their save changes to the central file so that other users can see their work.

To enable worksharing and create a central file:

  1. Open the Revit project file (RVT) you want as the central file.
  2. Click Collaborate tabWorksets panelWorksets.

    The Worksharing dialog displays, showing the default user-created worksets (Shared Levels and Grids, and Workset1).

  3. If desired, rename the worksets.
  4. In the Worksharing dialog, click OK.

    The Worksets dialog displays.

  5. In the Worksets dialog, click OK.

    You do not need to create worksets at this point. For more information, see Setting Up Worksets.

  6. Click Save AsProject.
  7. In the Save As dialog, specify a file name and directory location for the central file.

    When specifying a name for the central file, use a naming convention that identifies the file as the central file (for example, OfficeBuilding_CentralFile.rvt).

    NoteBecause legacy versions of Revit appended backup file names with a decimal point and a numerical string, you should not end your file name in this manner. Otherwise, a proper backup directory will not be created. For example, if you want to name your central file hotel.2010.rvt, consider naming it hotel_2010.rvt.
    ImportantWhen you save the central file, be sure that it is saved to a network drive that all team members have access to.
  8. In the Save As dialog, click Options.
  9. In the File Save Options dialog, select Make this a Central File after save.
    NoteIf this is the first time you have saved after enabling worksharing, this option is selected by default and cannot be changed.
  10. Select a default workset for local copies. See Save Options. In the Open workset default list, select one of the following.
    Workset Default Description
    All Opens all worksets in the central file. Opening all worksets will significantly reduce performance in larger project files.
    Editable Opens all editable worksets. Depending on how many editable worksets are in the central file, this option may significantly reduce performance in larger project files.
    Last Viewed Opens worksets according to their state from a previous Revit Architecture session. Only worksets open in the last session open. If you are opening the file for the first time, all worksets open.
    Specify

    Opens specified worksets. When you click Open, the Opening Worksets dialog displays.

    Initial status is based on when the file was last opened. Specify different worksets or click OK to confirm the default.

    Press Ctrl+A to select all worksets in this dialog.

  11. Click OK.
  12. In the Save As dialog, click Save.

The file is now the central file for the project. Revit Architecture creates the file in the directory you specified and creates a backup folder for the file. For example, if your central file is called OfficeBuilding_CentralFile, you see the Revit project file and the backup folder (OfficeBuilding_CentralFile_backup) in the directory.

The backup folder contains the backup information and editing permission information for the central file. For more information on backup files and folders, see Workshared Project Rollback.

The Revit_temp folder contains files that provide progress information on operations (such as Synchronize with Central) to the Worksharing Monitor. For more information, see Worksharing Monitor.

Related topics