Modifying or Removing Joins

 
 
 

After you create a join, you can change the settings you specified when you created it. You can remove one (of multiple) joins from a feature layer, or remove all joins from the feature layer at once, restoring the properties for that layer to its native data only.

Note

Joins are available for geospatial data only, and not for drawing objects. To join attribute data to drawing objects, see Overview of Linking Database Records to Objects.

Tell me more

Workflow

Related topics

Tell me more (Web Help Only)

Video

Tutorial

Note

Joins are available for geospatial data only, and not for drawing objects. To join attribute data to drawing objects, see Overview of Linking Database Records to Objects.

To modify a join

  1. In Display Manager, right-click the feature layer with the join to modify, and select Manage Joins.
  2. In the Manage Layer Data dialog box, select the join to modify, and click Edit.
  3. In the Edit A Join dialog box, change any settings.

    The settings are the same ones you used when you created the join. For example, you can change this join from One-To-Many to One-To-One to get rid of extra features created by the original join.

  4. To delete one (or multiple) joins for this feature layer, click the join to delete (use Ctrl or Shift to select multiple joins). Click Delete.
  5. When you are finished, click OK.

Changes can affect the styles, themes, and labels you set up in your map, if they were based on the joined data.