If you modify an object
that was queried from an attached drawing, AutoCAD Map 3D prompts you
to add the object to the save set, which locks the object. If an
object is locked, other users cannot modify the object.
the objects before you edit them. This ensures
that other users are not modifying the same objects. To lock an
object before editing, manually add the object to the save set.
When you save changed
objects back to attached drawings, only objects in the save set
are saved back.
to automatically add modified
objects to the save set without prompting, or you can turn the prompt off.
New objects are not automatically
added to the save set. You must manually add them to the save set.
Keep these points in
mind as you modify objects and add them to the save set:
- If an object is on a locked layer in
the attached drawing or you are working in the Layout tab,
you cannot add the object to the save set.
- If your system administrator has enabled object
locking, AutoCAD Map 3D locks the objects
in the attached drawing when you add the objects to the save set.
- By breaking a queried object into two
pieces using the BREAK, TRIM, FILLET, CHAMFER, or EXPLODE commands,
you create both an altered queried object and a new object. When
you save back the objects, the queried object is automatically saved
back to its attached source drawing, and the new object is automatically
added to the save set. However, the new object does not have an
associated attached drawing; you must specify the drawing to which
it will be saved.
- If you experience a system failure while
objects are locked, use the Drawing Maintenance command
the object locks.
- AutoCAD Map 3D cannot save edits back to
a detached drawing. If you query and edit objects from an attached
drawing, do not detach that drawing from the current drawing before
you perform the save back operation.
- If you decide you do not want to save
changes to an object back to the attached source drawing, remove
the object from the save set. The changes are maintained in the
current drawing, but are not saved back to the attached drawing.
- If you delete an object after adding
it to the save set, you can restore it by removing erased objects
from the save set. AutoCAD Map 3D restores all erased objects in the
- After you add objects to the save set,
you can undo the operation using the UNDO command.