Managing Versions
Concept Procedure
 
 
 

To create a new version

  1. In Map Explorer, right-click the feature source and click Manage Versions.

    This command is available only for feature sources that support versioning.

  2. In the Manage Versions dialog box, select a version under Version (in the lower half of the dialog box) and click Add.
  3. Enter a name for the new version and an optional comment.
  4. Click Close.

To activate a version

  1. In Map Explorer, right-click the feature source and click Manage Versions.
  2. In the Manage Versions dialog box, select the version and click Activate.

    All queries are performed on the active version of the feature source. Switching versions can take some time to execute, because the data store may need to flush and reload the feature cache.

  3. Click Close.

To commit changes back to the data store

  1. Check in all features, or cancel checkout for them.
  2. In Map Explorer, right-click the feature source and click Manage Versions.
  3. In the Manage Versions dialog box, select the version and click Merge.

    This option is available for child versions only. If you merge the active version, its parent version is activated and then the selected version is merged and removed from the Version tree.

    You cannot merge a version if it has children.

  4. Click Close.

To discard a version

  1. Check in any checked out features, or cancel checkout for them.
  2. Make sure that the parent version is not connected in any other drawing.
  3. In Map Explorer, right-click the feature source and click Manage Versions.
  4. In the Manage Versions dialog box, select the version and click Drop.

    All edits saved to the version are discarded. This option is available for child versions only. If you drop the active version, its parent version is activated and then the selected version is dropped and removed from the Version list.

    You cannot drop a version if it has children.

  5. Click Close.

To address errors

If an error occurs during version management, the affected item in the dialog box displays an error indicator.

  1. To see the cause of the error, hold your cursor over the error indicator.

    If you create a version and the operation fails, you will see a new version with an error indicator. The version has not really been created. It is a placeholder to display the error.

  2. If necessary, close the Manage Versions dialog box and correct the error.
  3. Redisplay the dialog box to make sure that the error has been cleared.