You can have a drawing automatically notify you if any new layers have been added to it.
New layers might be added when you attach external references or insert blocks. Also, if you work with shared drawings, new
layers might be added by other contributors.
When the layer notification feature is turned on, and a new layer is subsequently added, a balloon or dialog box message appears
after specified operations that involve files, layers, or plotting. The status bar also displays an icon that alerts you to
When a new layer is added, you will want to make sure that it displays and prints as intended, especially if you use special
layer settings for plotting, or if you set property overrides in layout viewports. Here is the general process:
- In the Layer Properties Manager, click the group filter named Unreconciled New Layers.
- Review and revise the property settings for each new layer to make sure that it displays and plots as intended.
- Accept the layer as reconciled, which removes the layer from the layer filter list.
The Unreconciled New Layers filter is automatically created when the layer notification feature is turned on, and a new layer
is subsequently created or generated.
The new layer notification feature can be controlled from the Layer Properties Manager, Settings button.