Reset
 
 
 
Bottom of the Page

Application menu Reset

Reset clears all data and resets 3ds Max settings (viewport configuration, snap settings, Material Editor, background image, and so on). Resetting restores the startup defaults, saved in the file maxstart.max, and removes any customization you might have done during the current session.

Resetting has the same effect as exiting and restarting 3ds Max.

TipTo change the startup defaults, start 3ds Max and make the adjustments you would like to see at startup. Then save the file to your scenes/ directory as maxstart.max.

Procedures

If you have made changes since the last Save operation, a dialog prompts you whether you want to save your changes.

To reset 3ds Max:

  1. Choose Application menu Reset.

    If you have made any changes since the last Save operation, a dialog prompts you to save them. As further protection against data loss, a confirmation dialog appears.

  2. When asked if you really want to reset, click Yes.

    Clicking No on this dialog cancels the Reset operation.