Edit menu Hold or Fetch
Hold saves the scene
and its settings to a disk-based buffer. Fetch restores the contents
of the buffer stored by the previous Hold command. The information
stored includes geometry, lights, cameras, the viewport configuration,
and selection sets.
Use Hold before you perform
an operation that might not work as expected, that is new or unfamiliar
to you, or that cannot be undone. If the results aren't as expected,
you can use Fetch to return to the point where you chose Hold.
TipAlso use Save or
Save As before you perform an operation that cannot be undone: for
example, applying the Reset Transform utility.
If you experience an
unexpected end of operation or crash after you perform Hold, you
can retrieve your scene from the buffer with the Fetch command after
you restart 3ds Max.
- The Hold buffer is a temporary file (maxhold.mx)
in the directory specified by the AutoBackup path on the Configure
User Paths dialog
- Fetch also deletes all operations recorded
in the Undo and Redo History lists.