Save As Previous
 
 
 

You can save a MAX scene to a previous version; in particular, to 3ds Max 2010 format. To do so, use the Save As Type drop-down list.

3ds Max 2010 option on Save As Type drop-down list

This option applies to the following commands:

ImportantSave As Previous behaves like Save Copy As: It does not change the scene you are actively working on, which remains the scene in Autodesk 3ds Max 2011 format. Save and Save As using the Autodesk 3ds Max 2011 version do not overwrite the previous version of the file, unless you specify the same file name for both scenes.

When you open a 3ds Max 2010 file in Autodesk 3ds Max 2011, the scene is automatically converted to Autodesk 3ds Max 2011 format. In this case, using Save will overwrite the original scene.

You can see the version under which a scene was saved by choosing Application menu Properties File Properties File Properties dialog Contents tab.

Autodesk 3ds Max 2011 scenes appear as “Saved As Version: 13.00”. 3ds Max 2010 scenes appear as “Saved As Version: 12.00”.

Certain new features in Autodesk 3ds Max 2011 are not supported in the earlier version, while others are supported in some way. The following list gives some particulars: